Home Don't Miss Left wins central panel in JNUSU Election 2018

Left wins central panel in JNUSU Election 2018


In the much awaited counting results, the United Left alliance wins all four top seats in JNUSU Election 2018, repeating the victory of 2017 polls. With N. Sai Balaji as the newly elected President, Sarika Chaudhary as the Vice-President, Aejaj Ahmed as the General Secretary and Amutha Jayadeep as the Joint Secretary, the prestigious Jawahar Lal Nehru University (JNU) have Left Unity in the central panel posts of Students Union.

The election, recorded with highest polls since 2013, has seen a clear lead by the Left Unity since the counting progressed on Sunday.

The United Left alliance comprises of All India Students’ Federation (AISF), All India Students’ Association (AISA), Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF) and Students’ Federation of India (SFI).

N. Sai Balaji won the President post in 2151 votes, defeating the ABVP candidate by 1179 votes. Sarika polled 2592 votes for the Vice President post and General Secretary candidate Aejaj (2426) securing a margin of more than 1000 votes and Amutha (2047) being the new Joint Secretary with a majority of 757 votes.

The counting resumed on Sunday morning after RSS-backed ABVP attacked and staged protests on Saturday, claiming that they were not informed about the process, suspending the counting for 14 hours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.